Personal injuries that occur because of someone else’s carelessness can be stressful. You’re not only dealing with the pain and stress of your injury, but you are also now burdened with needing to figure out how to file a personal injury claim to get the money you need to cover your medical expenses and lost wages.
Before taking steps to file a personal injury claim, continue reading to find out more about what you can expect and everything you need to know when filing a personal injury claim in Paterson, NJ.
The Time Frame for Filing Personal Injury Claims in New Jersey
Each state has its own time limits for how long you have to file a civil lawsuit, called the statute of limitations. In New Jersey, you have two years to go to court and file a lawsuit against the person responsible for your injuries, starting from the day of the accident. If you fail to file your lawsuit within that time period, the court system may refuse your case, and you may lose your rights to compensation.
If your claim is against the state or local government, you may have a shorter filing period. Every case is unique, so it’s imperative to consult with a qualified attorney. New Jersey also has a specific statute of limitations for lawsuits from medical malpractice.
New Jersey’s Comparative Negligence Laws
New Jersey follows modified comparative negligence rules, which reduce the compensation you may be entitled to according to your level of fault. If you’re found partially to blame for the accident, it will affect your total compensation.
In these cases, if the court finds you to be partially to blame for the accident, they assign a percentage to your fault, and your compensation is reduced by that percentage. For example, if you are found to be at fault for 10% of the accident that caused your injuries, you will be eligible to receive 90% of the allotted compensation. However, if you’re found to be more than 50% to blame, you won’t be able to collect any compensation for your injuries.
Consult an Attorney
Even with minor accidents, personal injury claims can be difficult to navigate. The insurance company wants to settle to make the case go away quickly and inexpensively, so you may end up with less than you deserve to cover your losses.
For your best chance at getting the compensation you’re entitled to, it’s best to hire an experienced personal injury attorney. Though you can handle the claim yourself, these situations can be challenging to navigate. An attorney understands all the ins and outs of filing a personal injury claim and will work to build a strong case for you. If you’ve experienced significant injuries or you’re up against a lot of resistance from the other side, hiring an attorney ensures you have someone to advocate for your rights and handle the intricacies of your case.
Contact Peter N. Davis & Associates
If you’ve been injured in an accident that was someone else’s fault, contact our team of experienced attorneys at Peter N. Davis & Associates. Attorney Peter N. Davis has recovered over $150 million in settlements for clients and has been fighting insurance companies for over 30 years, so you can trust that you have an experienced team to advocate for your rights. Call 973-279-7246 or fill out the online form to get your free case review.